Hi guys!
We're finally in Paris, which is probably the most important place of the trip for me. More about that in a minute!
The rest of London was pretty good, but we were ready to get out of there by the end. Our hostel was pretty weird- a lot of the people lived there, so it was hard to meet kids like us. We mostly just hung out with our friend Leigh and explored the last few days. Our last day, we saw WICKED, which I'm absolutely obsessed with! Tara loved it too. It was lots of fun. Leaving London was absolutely nuts-- there was snow, which Londoners aren't exactly used to. We ended up taking a shuttle (AT FOUR A.M.), but the guy couldn't take us too far without getting stuck in the snow. So he stopped as close as he could and said "Oh, just follow this road, it'll be about 15 minutes..."- okay, big fat liar!!! It was a 45 minute (uphill) hike in the snow, with all of our bags. We alternated from laughing to crying. It was so painful! But strangely, our flight was one of the very few that wasn't cancelled. We killed a few hours in the airport and finally left for Paris! Only 5 hours late! What a nightmare. As I said, at least our worst day is probably behind us. Once we arrived in Paris, we were so excited we forgot all about our hellish day. How "un-jammy"!
Paris is incredible. It's warmer than London, which is a HUGE plus. I can't stress how huge of a plus it is. Last night we found our hostel, which is FANTASTIC. It's WARM and sooooo nice, and connected to a great bar. It's right on a river and we're in love with it... Anyway, after we found it, we went to dinner and got wine and french bread and omelets- pretty typical, huh? I'm just so excited to be here- I've taken French since I was 13 years old! It's been such a huge dream of mine, I'm absolutely out of my mind with excitement.
Today we took the metro to the Eiffel Tower. It sounds so stupid, but I was literally in tears seeing it. It's SO big! And SO beautiful! I can't believe I'm in Paris! Afterwards, we walked to the Arc de Triomph and then the Champs-Elyssee. Both were really cool. We definitely ate baguettes under the Arc de Triomph :)
So so far, so good! We're very excited and happy to be seeing new things. The people here are very different though. The men are SO gross! Hitting on us and saying disgusting things- it's actually very uncomfortable. And there was a girl on the metro GLARING at me today, who then proceeded to flick me off. I'm thinking that people don't really smile at eachother here. I spend most of the time on the metro looking at my shoes, wanting to cry. Yikes.
All for now- my free 15 minutes of internet is about to die. More soon, guys!
Au revior!
Emily xo
Friday, February 6, 2009
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment