Thursday, February 12, 2009

i licked all your cookies this morning when you were still sleeping, tar.

(you don´t even want to know what her response was.)

¡Hola! I love the keys on this keyboard! Warning: this is going to be annoying.
Ç`ºª?¿ ok, all out of my system.

So we´re in Barcelona! It´s honestly probably my favorite place that we´ve been so far, shockingly. I was expecting Paris to be (I DID love Paris...), but Barcelona has an entirely different feel. One that I´m officially obsessed with. The people are SO nice! You should´ve seen us in the train station: two idiot American girls who speak 4 words of Spanish, and they were like "habla espangnol? oh, hahaha! silly girls!" and weren´t even mad! They were just NICE! And no one kicked me yet!

Our commute was pretty exhausting. We took 2 trains, a shuttle, a plane, another shuttle, and then two more trains. With lots of luggage. And the night before we left, we had wine with some (what else?) Australians, so we barely got any sleep. We were falling asleep walking by the time we got to our hostel! But we loved Barcelona the moment we left the tube station. It´s so much fun to arrive somewhere new and pop up from underground for the first time. We´re always just screaming with "awwww!"s and "look at THAAAAT!!!"s. Anyway, after we arrived, the guy at the desk was a jerk and gave us free beers to make up for it. We don´t drink beer. So we went out for dinner (tapas, paella, SANGREA! so effing good!). And then we came back and hung out with some guys in our room that seemed cool. We were wrong. They were not cool. One of them was from Ireland, and he was already smashed by the time we got in there (at like 6). He joked, "oh, I´m like that Irish stereotype of the guy who just drinks too much". Okay, my friend. You are actually an entirely different stereotype. It´s called an alcoholic who is going nowhere with his life. This is an account of last night (NO exaggeration). Keep in mind how exhausted we were!!

9:00. Finally fall asleep
10:30. Boys come in, turn on lights, talk really loud.
12:00. Same thing.
12:15. Annoying cell phone starts ringing. Doesn´t stop for rest of night.
2:00. 2 boys and a girl come on, turn on lights, girl runs around yelling "I can´t find my pants!!"
3:30. Someone pounds on door. I open it, glaring. "I forgot my key," he says. Needless to say, I was NOT understanding.
6:00. Everyone comes back in, loudly go to bed.
Sometime when I was sleeping: Irish man pees in his bed.

Needless to say, we aren´t bummed that our hostel booking was messed up and we have to switch tomorrow. We already changed rooms!

Anyway, enough venting! Today was brilliant! We walked around the area near our hostel, which is just incredible. There´s this open market with fresh fruit (I got an amazing, AMAZING fruit salad for 1.5 euros! That´s nothing!!!), meat, bread, desserts, etc. We just LOVED it. We also did some shopping and got some pita stuff for dinner that was great. Everything is SOOOO cheap here, especially compared to Paris and London.

I think it´ll be an early night for us tonight, since we basically pulled all-nighters the last 2 nights in a row. Hopefully our next hostel is better.

All for now, guys! More when I can, from Barcelona again, or Madrid!

Em xo

No comments:

Post a Comment