Hi again!!
We've had two incredible days. I'm so glad to be back in that "AHHH, We're in Europe!" mindset. We've been in Rome for a few days, and we still love it here.
Yesterday was one of those days you never dream you'll get to have. We went to The Vatican and saw tons of amazing artwork, and then the Sistine Chapel. Let me tell you, it did NOT disappoint! What an amazing place. I just stood in the middle for a good 5 minutes, staring at the ceiling. You know you could spend hours there and still not see everything. After that, we walked around the area a bit and saw St. Peter's Basilica. There was this huge line and we heard you have to pay 4 euros and stuff, so we didn't know if we wanted to do it, but we finally decided to and we were SO glad we did. It was MASSIVE. Just so huge and so beautiful. I stood inside looking at all of the amazing artwork and statues and I felt like the tiniest little thing in the world. It's amazing how something manmade can have so much power and be SO awe-inspiring.
Today we went to an outdoor market with a couple we met in our hostel from Australia. (We love Australians!!!) It was so huge and crazy! There were just people everywhere, selling things that range from super nice purses to garbage it looked like they found on the way to the market. I bought some stuff though (for SO cheap), and I can't wait to get compliments so I can say, "Oh thanks, I bought it at a market in Rome. No big deal." HA, what a loser! Then Tar and I went to this cute cafe we found called "Momento", because the espresso here is SO good. I can basically drink it straight! I'm definitely going to miss that when I go back to America and drink the bitter nastiness that they call espresso. Ha! I'm soooo above that now!
Tomorrow we're planning on seeing The Pantheon and a few other things, which should be really cool. I just love Rome so much, no other place we've been has compared to here for me. I'm surprised, because I was expecting to love it, but I definitely didn't think it would be my favorite place we see!
All for now, guys. Don't worry, I've taken a trillion pictures (MY CAMERA BROKE OUTSIDE OF THE COLLOSEUM! Talk about bad timing! Luckily, I think it'll pull through for the rest of the trip, it's just hard to take pictures...) Anyway, love you all and can't believe I get to see everyone so soon. I'm gonna be so bummed to say goodbye to Italy.
Love, Emily xoxo
Sunday, February 22, 2009
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment